Candy Cane Roulade Review

Brand: Lush Handmade Cosmetics

 

 

 

The Colour:
This roulade mimics the appearance of a slice of candy cane. Except it is about seven times bigger and heavier than any I have ever seen.

Similarly to a Candy Cane slice, it is swirled red and white throughout, shaped into a log and thick slices are cut from it. There is a swirl of a beige ‘cream’ on the inside to boost its softening properties and the whole thing looks like some delicious soft dessert that’s perfect to usher in the Christmas season.

 

How it works:

 

Along with Snow Fairy FUN and body conditioner, this was the product I felt most upset by this year when I realised I had already missed my chance to try it in Christmas 2016.

To put it succinctly, my local Lush store is a frequent disappointment to me.

During most times in the year, even the regular non-seasonal range is barely stocked. The shelves will have entire slots that are empty and you will be given no indication as to when products will be back.

Even though I frequently buy speciality products online, the thought to buy my Lush products online last year just never came to mind. Mostly, I realise, the fact the shelves were barely ever stocked stopped me from realising just how many ‘types’ of products Lush did. So I didn’t consider the prospect of turning to the internet.

As a result, I missed out on trying everything I wanted to from the Christmas and Halloween range last year and decided I would take full advantage this time around.

My first impression upon receiving the roulade in the mail was, “Hmm…it is pretty small. Or am I just greedy?”

Even if it would cost me more, which it undoubtedly would, had the Christmas range been in stores at the same time as online, I would have gone in to find it in person and ask for a much weightier slice.

The primary thing that stopped me from buying Scrubee when it first came out this year for Mother’s Day was suspecting it would not last me more than two uses. I was pleasantly surprised that it lasted a good seven. So I buried my worry and considered that if the Candy Cane roulade lasted more than a few uses and could match the kind of quality that Scrubee provided, it would not be a wasteful purchase.

After washing, I turned off the faucet and used the roulade last.

It made an instant, beautiful, creamy lather and I needed just a tiny amount on each arm and leg to smooth over without the need to drag the roulade over my body repeatedly. I am already hopeful that it will last a while since it has not shrunken or changed shape at all since my first use of it.

After using it multiple times I can say with ease that it works best if your skin is damp but not dripping wet. Otherwise the water on your skin will inhibit the product from sinking in. The scent will also linger more lightly and it won’t leave your skin as soft as it could.

The mint is not tingly on the skin but is definitely soothing and put me in a great mood afterwards. All I can do is rave about it and offer people my arms to smell how fantastic it is.

Storing it is a bit tricky, as is the case with many of Lush’s naked products. The worst thing you can do is forget to allow them to dry fully between uses by leaving them in the shower, for example.

Thanks to the cellulose packaging this product came in, I had some idea straight away on how I’d store it.

I simply kept the packaging outside of the shower so it would remain dry and then wrapped the roulade back up when I was done and put it in a dry place so it doesn’t start to grow anything funky.

Should it dissolve on its own before I’m finished with it, I will update my review, but it is quite firmly rolled together so I am hopeful this won’t happen.

Overall, I am impressed. My skin is buttery soft and it makes a nice change from the abrasive body scrubs you could use instead. From now on, I will likely use this interchangeably with my Scrubee.

 

The Scent:

Through the packaging, the scent of the fresh mint is the most noticeable aroma. It is slightly sweet but not very strong and was almost entirely overwhelmed by the scent of every other product in the box.

When I took it out I realised the ‘Candy Cane’ aspect of the product is just one element to the fragrance. This roulade is so complex scent-wise.

I can smell a multitude of things both before and after I use it: mint; a slight syrupy sweetness; warm cypress and cedarwood oils and the calming silkiness of soya milk, almond oil and honeydew melon.

It is pretty fantastic and I have never smelled anything at all that is similar or alike this product by Lush or any other cosmetics store.

I would have completely missed out had I not tried this product within the short time it is available each year. If this was a part of a scent family, I imagine it would at least be in my top five.

It does linger on my skin, which is my favourite part. It smells like a light, natural perfume. An aroma that is heady but not overwhelming like even pleasant perfumes can be. It has the kind of scent that makes you wonder if it a person’s natural bouquet when they walk past you rather than an obvious mist of perfume or cologne they sprayed before dashing out of the house.

I think it is perfectly unisex as there is nothing overwhelming girly or masculine about it. So, it would make a good product for people like myself who enjoy many of their favourite fragrances a little in between the two.

 

What would I rate this product?

Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

 

Would I repurchase this product?

Yes!

My only concern is how fast this product will disintegrate as the year goes on. I would love to get at least one or two more before Christmas is over, but time will tell whether I consider it worth that risk.

 

Ingredients: Soya Milk, Rapeseed Oil, Glycerine, Fresh Mint Infusion, Fresh Honeydew Melon Pulp, Corn Syrup Water, Almond Oil, Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Butter, Cedarwood Oil, Cypress Oil, Titanium Dioxide, Sodium Chloride, EDTA, Tetrasodium Etidronate, Sodium Hydroxide, *Limonene, *Geraniol, Citronellol, Colour 14700, Colour 17200

 

Vegan? Yes.

 

2017 Price: £8.43 for 120g

 

Leave a comment